All over Niagara


I think photographers everywhere are obsessed with abandoned buildings and places that nature has taken back. A few weeks ago my cousin visited and he loves urban exploration probably more than I do, so he came prepared with a list of sites to check out in the Niagara Region.

IMG_2369

Processed with VSCO with f2 presetIMG_2373

Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 preset

We started checking out the old canal/lock systems. One of them is right in the middle of a Battle of Beaver dams park and is used as a seating area in front of a bandshell. This part of the old canal is really crumbling, and very beautiful. It’s part of the Bruce trail if you want to check it out.

IMG_2540IMG_2380IMG_2379IMG_2377IMG_2541

I don’t actually remember where it was in Niagara, but we walked down a trail and checked out this private estate train station, which now just looks like an old pavilion. It was pretty run down and so were the walls surrounding the property. The old gate is pretty nice though, and so was one of the neighbours who provided us with the history.

(I just took these on my cell phone and didn’t straighten all the horizon lines so my apologizes but you can still see how lovely the area is, even in early spring before anything is really in bloom.)

IMG_2383

Lake Ontario from a park in Niagara-on-the-Lake.

IMG_2385IMG_2386

We drove all the way down along the Niagara River, and randomly just found this monument as the sun was setting. A few kids were sitting out there with skateboards, and randomly started talking to us about the weather.

These aren’t the usual places you explore in this area, but I really enjoyed myself. Anyone know any other interesting places in Niagara Region?

Author: alovelylittleworld

I am Charity Emmanuelle Blaine, a lifestyle photographer from Dunnville and Hamilton, Ontario. I see beauty in everything and capture the precious moments that define our lives. I look for those universal seconds that we all, as humans, understand. I believe in love and whimsy, day dreams, hope and human compassion. Those are the things that will always be present in my work. I studied photography at Niagara College, but I have a background in research, History and elementary school teaching. I occasionally still shoot film and I collect post cards, Indie Art and Music and vinyl toys. I love the Walking Dead and Parks and Recreation.

Leave a Reply

