Open Mic Night (my life in a nutshell)

Some random day in December, I decided to document my entire day again. It wasn’t anything special. A Wednesday.

I like to read first thing in the morning. First my bible, then something light while I drink my coffee. I was reading Luanne Rice’s Silver Bells.

Wednesdays are soup kitchen days, so while my aunt and uncle are setting up there, I let out their cavalier king charles spaniels.

This particular week, at the soup kitchen, Sarah was decorating for Christmas. I took a few snaps of some local fellows while I was there for my documentary photo project on beauty.

Some candid photos, while we sat and chatted afterwards.

Wednesday afternoons, I usually edit any photo work I have backed up, but I also worked on some cheesy Christmas cards.

Made dinner, did dishes, played with rabbits….

Normally on a Wednesday evening, I go to Bible Study, but it was cancelled this week. Also the library was having its Open Mic Night…

The performers were amazing. A little mix of guitar, bango, mandolin, singing and poetry. At the end, one of the performers started a Christmas carol and everyone joined in. It really makes you appreciate living in a small community on nights like this. Everyone is so supportive of one another, and if they don’t know each other before the evening, by the end, you’ve probably met. Dunnville is generally pretty supportive of its library, and although it’s still small, the Arts community is really great and works together. It’s like I’m trying to convince you to move here. I’m not, but I do love it.

 

 

Author: alovelylittleworld

I am Charity Emmanuelle Blaine, a lifestyle photographer from Dunnville and Hamilton, Ontario. I see beauty in everything and capture the precious moments that define our lives. I look for those universal seconds that we all, as humans, understand. I believe in love and whimsy, day dreams, hope and human compassion. Those are the things that will always be present in my work. I studied photography at Niagara College, but I have a background in research, History and elementary school teaching. I occasionally still shoot film and I collect post cards, Indie Art and Music and vinyl toys. I love the Walking Dead and Parks and Recreation.

Leave a Reply

